neutron scattering society of america

The NSSA Sustained Research Prize

The next deadline for nominations is December 1, 2015.
Selection committee chair: Jeff Lynn (NIST) –

Prize Selection Committee 2016

Chair: Jeff Lynn (NIST)
Nitash Balsara (University of California, Berkeley)
Ram Seshadri (University of California, Santa Barbara)
Paolo Radaelli (University of Oxford)
Flora Meilleur (NC State University)


To recognize a sustained contribution to a scientific subfield, or subfields, using neutron scattering techniques, or a sustained contribution to the development of neutron scattering techniques. In either case, the primary consideration shall be an enduring impact on science. Preference shall be given to applicants whose work was carried out predominantly in North America.


The prize consists of $2,500, a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient and a travel allowance to attend the corresponding NSSA sponsored American Conference on Neutron Scattering (ACNS) at which the prize is awarded. The recipient will have an invited talk at the corresponding ACNS.


The NSSA Sustained Research Prize is expected to be awarded biennially at the corresponding ACNS meeting.


The deadline for nominations will be approximately 6 months prior to the ACNS. (The meetings are usually in June, so the nomination deadline would then be December of the previous year – current deadline is Dec. 1, 2015.)

  • A letter of nomination, not to exceed 1000 words, defining the major scientific accomplishments that merit the award. The nomination should stress the impact on the science subfields that the group or researcher has made with their neutron scattering results.
  • The nominee’s CV clearly identifying the published work that relates to the award nomination. Do not include reprints unless they are not readily available electronically.
  • Up to two additional letters of support.

Email the nomination package in PDF format to the Selection Committee Chair.

The award shall be granted to an individual without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability or sexual orientation.

The award cannot be awarded posthumously.

Previous Winners

2016 — Prof. Pengcheng Dai
2014 — Dr. Jeffrey W. Lynn
2012 — Dr. Gian Piero Felcher
2010 — Prof. Collin Broholm
2008 — Prof. Frank Bates
2006 — Dr. John Tranquada