neutron scattering society of america

NSSA Student Prizes

Beginning at ACNS 2012, the NSSA will present two sets of prizes recognizing outstanding accomplishment in the general area of neutron scattering by graduate or undergraduate students who have performed much of their work at North American neutron facilities.

The NSSA Prize for Outstanding Student Research

The deadline for nominations is December 4, 2017.
Selection committee chair: Young Lee (Stanford University) –

Prize Selection Committee 2018

Young Lee (Stanford University)

Ursula Perez (University of Illinois, Chicago)
Bjorn Clausen (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Bryan Chakoumakos (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
Julie Borchers (National Institute of Standards and Technology)


This prize will be awarded every two years, at the American Conference on Neutron Scattering (ACNS).

A call for nominations will be made in advance of the ACNS meeting at which the prize will be presented, on a schedule consistent with that of the nominations for the other NSSA prizes. Nominations for this prize will be adjudicated by a selection committee set up by the NSSA executive. The selection committee will make the award on the basis of outstanding contributions to neutron science, with a significant portion of the relevant research carried out at a North American neutron scattering facility. The prize will consist of an appropriate certificate or plaque, $1000 in cash, and an invitation to give an oral presentation at the ACNS meeting at which the prize is awarded.


The nomination would consist of one nominating and one supporting letter, a cv listing publications and relevant experience, and copies of up to three representative publications. Eligible candidates are either current PhD students or scientists within two years of receiving their PhD by the end of the appropriate ACNS meeting. The onus is on the nominator to show that the nominee qualifies for the prize.

Previous Winners



2016: Dr. P. Douglas Godfrin

For seminal neutron scattering studies of concentrated protein solutions and protein dynamics with application to biopharmaceutical engineering

2014: Dr. Kate A. Ross

For seminal neutron scattering studies of exotic ground states, ground state selection, and spin excitations in XY Pyrochlore Magnets

2012: Dr. Claire White

For pioneering a new methodology to elucidate accurate structural representations of complex materials by combining neutron diffraction and computational chemistry



ACNS Outstanding Student Poster Presentation Prizes

Up to 3 prizes for outstanding poster presentations by graduate or undergraduate students at the ACNS meeting will be made. These prizes would normally be made to recipients whose work spans a range of specializations within neutron science (such as hard matter, soft matter, instrumentation etc.) and the work to be presented and considered would have a significant portion carried out at a North American neutron scattering facility. Eligibility requires that candidates either be current students, or be within two years of receiving their PhD, by the end of the ACNS meeting at which they wish to be considered. Candidates who wish to be considered for these prizes will self-identify at the time at which they submit their abstract for their poster at the relevant ACNS meeting, and the onus is on the candidate to show that they qualify for the prize.

An ad-hoc evaluation committee will be set up by the Conference Chair (the NSSA VP) and the Program Co-chairs for the relevant ACNS meeting. They will evaluate the competing poster presentations at the ACNS meeting, and discuss the posters with the authors and candidates, if possible.

Prize winners will be recognized at the ACNS conference, presented with a certificate and a $100 cash award.

Previous Winners

Michelle Calabrese, University of Delaware
Matthew Krogstad, Northern Illinois University
Michael E. Moore, University of Tennessee
Fred (Chae-Reem) Yang, California Institute of Technology

Tucker McClanahan, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Tianhao Wang, Indiana University
Paul Godfrin, University of Delaware
Dennis Kim, California Institute of Technology

Brett Guralnick, University of Delaware
Kemp W. Plumb, University of Toronto
Jeffrey J. Richards, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington.

Matthew E. Helgeson, University of Delaware
Katharine L. Page, University of California, Santa Barbara

Divya Singh, Johns Hopkins University
Olivier Delaire, California Institute of Technology

Owen P. Vajk, Stanford University
Timothy J. Rappl, University of California, Berkeley