neutron scattering society of america

The Clifford G. Shull Prize in Neutron Science

The next deadline for nominations is December 1, 2015.
Submit nominations to

In memory of Clifford G. Shull (1915-2001) Nobel Prize in Physics

Memoir (National Academy of Sciences)

Prize Selection Committee 2016

Sunil Sinha (University of California, San Diego)

Roger Pynn (Indiana University)
Robert Briber (University of Maryland)
Dimitri Argyirou (European Spallation Source)
Suzanne te Velthuis (Argonne National Laboratory)


To recognize outstanding research in neutron science and leadership promoting the North American neutron scattering community in honor of Clifford G. Shull, who received the Nobel Prize in 1994 with Bert Brockhouse for seminal developments in the field of neutron science. Consideration shall be given to outstanding research accomplishments and contributions to the advancement of neutron science, including developing or supporting the North American neutron scattering community through teaching, research, technical leadership and scientific writings. Preference shall be given to applicants whose work was carried out predominantly in North America.


The prize consists of a plaque and an honorarium of $5,000 to be presented at the American Conference on Neutron Scattering (ACNS). The recipient is expected to present an invited talk at the conference. A stipend towards travel expenses to the conference will be paid in addition to the honorarium.


The NSSA Clifford G. Shull Neutron Prize is expected to be awarded biennially at the corresponding ACNS meeting.


The deadline for nominations will be approximately 6 months prior to the ACNS. (The meetings are usually in June, so the nomination deadline would then be December of the previous year – current deadline is Dec. 1, 2015.)

Nominations should include:

  • A letter of nomination not to exceed 1,000 words evaluating the nominee’s qualifications and identifying the specific work to be recognized and how the work has led to the advancement of neutron science.
  • The nominee’s CV clearly identifying the work that relates to the award nomination. Do not include reprints unless they are not readily available electronically.
  • Up to two additional letters of support. Specific references to particularly important work should be made in the nomination and supporting letters.

Email the nomination package in PDF format to the Selection Committee Chair.

The award shall be granted to an individual without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability or sexual orientation.

The award cannot be awarded posthumously.

Previous Winners

2016 — Dr. Charles F. Majkrzak
2014 — Dr. Sunil K. Sinha
2012 — Dr. Robert J. Birgeneau
2010 — Dr. H.A. Mook Jr.
2008 — Dr. S.-H. Chen
2006 — Dr. J. M. Carpenter
2004 — Dr. J. M. Rowe