neutron scattering society of america

The Neutron Scattering Society of America (NSSA) was formed in 1992 and is an organization of persons who have an interest in neutron scattering research in a wide spectrum of disciplines.

This web site is intended to provide information about the NSSA, to highlight upcoming meetings and other activities of the Society, and to list links to neutron laboratories and resource information.

NSSA Statement in Support of Lujan Center

Become a Member

There is no cost to be a member
  • Membership in the society is open to individuals in academia, industry, and government.
  • Graduate students and recent Ph.D.s are especially encouraged to join.
  • Presently the NSSA has more than 1000 members from 26 countries.

What's New

Knoxville Mayor Madeline Rogero welcomed ACNS attendees
Post Date: June 9th, 2014

Local Knoxville media coverage of the American Conference on Neutron Scattering:

1. Atomic City Underground:

2. WBIR (Channel 10):  (interview with Kate Ross and Alan Tennant)


Congratulations 2014 NSSA Prize Winners
Post Date: February 6th, 2014

The NSSA is pleased to announce the 2014 NSSA prize winners:
Prof. Sunil K. Sinha is the recipient of the Clifford G. Shull Prize,
Dr. Jeffrey W. Lynn is the recipient Sustained Research Prize,
Dr. Emil Bozin is the recipient of the Science Prize and
Dr. Kate A.Ross is the recipient of the newly established Prize for Outstanding Student Research.
Read the full press release.