1st proposed amendment to Bylaws: In the sections on Fellows and Prizes, replace "North America" with "the Americas" (this occurs 7 times).

Current Text:

XIII.2. NSSA fellows

Through the NSSA Fellowship Program, the Society recognizes members who have made significant contributions to the neutron scattering community in **North America** through one or more of the following areas...

<u>NSSA Shull Prize</u>: To recognize outstanding research in neutron science and leadership promoting the North American neutron scattering community in honor of Clifford G. Shull, who received the Nobel Prize in 1994 with Bertram Brockhouse for seminal developments in the field of neutron science. Consideration shall be given to outstanding research accomplishments and contributions to the advancement of neutron science, including developing or supporting the North American neutron scattering community through teaching, research, technical leadership and scientific writings. Preference shall be given to applicants whose work was carried out predominantly in North America.

<u>NSSA Science Prize</u>: To recognize a major scientific accomplishment or important scientific contribution within the last 5 years using neutron scattering techniques. Nominees must be within 12 years of receiving their PhD degree. Preference shall be given to applicants whose work was carried out predominantly in North America.

<u>NSSA Sustained Research Prize</u>: To recognize a sustained contribution to a scientific subfield, or subfields, using neutron scattering techniques, or a sustained contribution to the development of neutron scattering techniques. In either case, the primary consideration shall be an enduring impact on science. Preference shall be given to applicants whose work was carried out predominantly in North America.

<u>NSSA Outstanding Student Research Prize</u>: To recognize outstanding contributions to neutron science, with a significant portion of the relevant research carried out at a **North American neutron scattering facility**.

Proposed text:

XIII.2. NSSA fellows

Through the NSSA Fellowship Program, the Society recognizes members who have made significant contributions to the neutron scattering community in **the Americas** through one or more of the following areas...

<u>NSSA Shull Prize</u>: To recognize outstanding research in neutron science and leadership promoting the <u>American</u> neutron scattering community in honor of Clifford G. Shull, who received the Nobel Prize in 1994 with Bertram Brockhouse for seminal developments in the field of neutron science. Consideration shall be given to outstanding research accomplishments and contributions to the advancement of neutron science, including developing or supporting the <u>American</u> neutron scattering community through teaching, research, technical leadership and scientific writings. Preference shall be given to applicants whose work was carried out predominantly in the <u>Americas</u>.

<u>NSSA Science Prize</u>: To recognize a major scientific accomplishment or important scientific contribution within the last 5 years using neutron scattering techniques. Nominees must be within 12 years of receiving their PhD degree. Preference shall be given to applicants whose work was carried out predominantly in the Americas.

<u>NSSA Sustained Research Prize</u>: To recognize a sustained contribution to a scientific subfield, or subfields, using neutron scattering techniques, or a sustained contribution to the development of neutron scattering techniques. In either case, the primary consideration shall be an enduring impact on science. Preference shall be given to applicants whose work was carried out predominantly in **the Americas**.

<u>NSSA Outstanding Student Research Prize</u>: To recognize outstanding contributions to neutron science, with a significant portion of the relevant research carried out at a **neutron scattering facility in the Americas**.

2nd proposed amendment to Bylaws:

Add description of NSSA Anne Mayes Neutron Scattering Prize to the list of Prizes.

"<u>NSSA Anne Mayes Neutron Scattering Prize</u>: This prize is in honor of Professor Anne Mayes, whose neutron scattering work in the soft-matter and polymer science disciplines is well recognized, as is her mentoring of those who worked with her. This prize is aimed at women scientists carrying out neutron scattering research that exemplify the characteristics that typified Anne's work and life. Consideration shall be given to excellence in neutron research, excellence in mentoring and coaching in the neutron sciences, and excellence in outreach and neutron science communication. Preference shall be given to applicants whose work was carried out predominantly in the Americas. Nominations from all career stages are welcome.

This Prize is expected to be awarded every four years at the International Conference on Neutron Scattering (ICNS) meeting."

3rd proposed amendment to Bylaws:

Update section on "<u>Prize Selection Committees</u>" to include the Anne Mayes Neutron Scattering Prize committee and to correct a typo:

Current text:

"...The Selection Committee shall submit the names of the prize winners to the NSSA Executive Committee 5 months prior to ACNS 2018."

Proposed text:

"...The Selection Committee shall submit the names of the prize winners to the NSSA Executive Committee 5 months prior to ACNS, except as otherwise noted."

4th proposed amendment to Bylaws:

Change name of officer position from "Treasurer" to "Financial Secretary". See main section below (plus other instances within the by-laws as appropriate):

Current text:

Section 5.10: The Treasurer.

The **Treasurer** shall have supervision of the funds, securities, receipts and disbursements of the Society; cause all monies and other valuable effects of the Society to be deposited in its name and to its credit in such depositories as shall be selected by the Executive Committee, if pursuant to authority conferred by the Executive Committee; cause to be kept at the accounting office of the Society correct books of account, proper vouchers and other papers pertaining to the Society's business; render to the President or the Executive Committee, whenever requested, an account of the financial condition of the Society and of their transactions as **Treasurer**; and, in general, perform all duties and have all powers incident to the office of the **Treasurer** and perform such other duties and have such other powers as from time to time may be assigned to them by these Bylaws, the President or the Executive Committee. Any member of the Society, regardless of affiliation with a major neutron facility, may hold this office.

Proposed text:

Section 5.10: The Financial Secretary.

The **Financial Secretary** shall have supervision of the funds, securities, receipts and disbursements of the Society; cause all monies and other valuable effects of the Society to be deposited in its name and to its credit in such depositories as shall be selected by the Executive Committee, if pursuant to authority conferred by the Executive Committee; cause to be kept at the accounting office of the Society correct books of account, proper vouchers and other papers pertaining to the Society's business; render to the President or the Executive Committee, whenever requested, an account of the financial condition of the Society and of their transactions as **Financial** Secretary; and, in general, perform all duties and have all powers incident to the office of the Financial Secretary and perform such other duties and have such other powers as from time to time may be assigned to them by these Bylaws, the President or the Executive Committee. Any member of the Society, regardless of affiliation with a major neutron facility, may hold this office.