neutron scattering society of america

Archive for the ‘News & Announcements’ Category

Benno Schoenborn wins Bau Neutron Award for his pioneering research at LANSCE

The American Crystallographic Association (ACA) has selected retired Laboratory Senior Fellow Benno Schoenborn, formerly of Bioenergy and Biome Sciences (B-11), to receive the 2016 Bau Neutron Diffraction Award. The Award recognizes exceptional research achievement in neutron diffraction. Schoenborn is honored for his pioneering research in macromolecular neutron crystallography and the design and development of the neutron crystallography beamline (Protein Crystallography Station, PCS) at the Los Alamos Neutron Scattering Center (LANSCE).

More detailed information can be found here.

Congratulations New Executive Committee Members

It is our pleasure to announce the results of our recent election, in which three NSSA Executive Committee positions came to term. Congratulations and welcome to our new NSSA executive members:

Prof. Patrick Woodward (Ohio State) – Vice-President (4 year term)
Dr. Katharine Page (ORNL) – Secretary (4 year term)
Dr. Mike Crawford (DuPont) – Treasurer (2 year term)

We would like to thank our members who put themselves forward for election. Standing for election can be a somewhat thankless task, but the well-being of our society depends critically on our leading members of doing so. We greatly appreciate the efforts and service which these members have offered our society.

We thank our outgoing executive members, Julie Borchers (Vice-President) and Chris Leighton (Secretary) for all their efforts, hard work, and contributions on our behalf.

ACNS a Great Success!

The 7th American Conference on Neutron Scattering (ACNS) was held in Knoxville, Tennessee, June 1–5, 2014 and drew 440 attendees. A Neutron News article has been published summarizing the meeting. A collection of photos from the conference can be found at the ORNL Neutron Sciences flickr site.

Knoxville Mayor Madeline Rogero welcomed ACNS attendees

Local Knoxville media coverage of the American Conference on Neutron Scattering:

1. Atomic City Underground:

2. WBIR (Channel 10):  (interview with Kate Ross and Alan Tennant)


Congratulations 2014 NSSA Prize Winners

The NSSA is pleased to announce the 2014 NSSA prize winners:
Prof. Sunil K. Sinha is the recipient of the Clifford G. Shull Prize,
Dr. Jeffrey W. Lynn is the recipient Sustained Research Prize,
Dr. Emil Bozin is the recipient of the Science Prize and
Dr. Kate A.Ross is the recipient of the newly established Prize for Outstanding Student Research.
Read the full press release.

Congratulations 2014 NSSA Fellows

The NSSA is pleased to announce the selection of the following 2014 NSSA Fellows: Nitash Balsara, Simon Billinge, Robert Briber, William Buyers, Michael Fitzsimmons, Bruce Gaulin, Henry Glyde, Lee Magid, David Moncton, Raymond Osborn, Sushil Satija, and Norman Wagner. Congratulations !


ACNS 2014 970x119 blue

The 2014 American Conference on Neutron Scattering (ACNS) will be held June 1-5, 2014 in Knoxville, TN. Hosted by ORNL Neutron Sciences and sponsored by the Neutron Scattering Society of America, this 7th conference in the series will feature a combination of invited and contributed talks, posters sessions, tutorials and an industrial exhibit. More information will be available soon. The ACNS web site is now live:

Letter in support of JRR-3 research reactor

The following letter from NSSA has been sent in support of resumed research operations for the JRR-3 research reactor in Tokai, Japan.

NSSA Election Results

The NSSA Executive Committee Member elections ended in January 8, 2013. Stefan Rosenkranz is the new president with 52.7% of the votes. Mark Lumsden is the new communication secretary (63.6%), Ron Jones takes over as membership secretary (66.7%) and Mike Crawford is the new treasurer (69.7%). Congratulations.

NSSA Elections 2012

The election of the NSSA President and three executive committee members is coming up. Emails with voting instructions will be sent to all NSSA members by December 14th and voting has been extended until January 8, 2013. Details about the candidates can be found on the Election 2012 Page.